Bored

A fleeting character study is undertaken as I look at the dusty window to see my own reflection. Tie, white shirt, even mouth, hinting a smile. Sherlock Holmes was perpetually bored, other than the times when he applied a frenzied energy during crime investigation. He found boredom so troublesome that he turned to opiates to help carry him through the monotony of day-to-day life. Schopenhauer wrote that “the two enemies of happiness are pain and boredom”. I am inclined to agree with this, especially here. Especially now. I find myself sitting in Starbucks, minding my own business. Face buried in my laptop writing about the very topic that seems to stalk my very existence at the first hint of vacated time; boredom.

On the upside however it  gives me time to plot out, with diamond cut precision,  what I intend to train tonight. Along with heavy bag punching, I have a set of partner drills planned (should a kind- hearted, well-intentioned, yet notoriously unreliable mate actually turn up). Some good therefore, can come out of my own pained boredom, the opportunity to plan my Gung Fu training.

One Response to “Bored”

  1. His Dark Side Says:

    Reblogged this on HIS DARK SIDE.

Leave a Reply

