Fix My Back Pain

When I was around 19 years old, I blew my back out.  It took almost a year to rehab it back to where it was functional again – but still with stiffness.

Learning that stress is a factor in my mid-back which then pulls into my lower back has helped.  Activities like BJJ have absolutely destroyed my back in the past and I’ve had to take a lot of time between sessions to heal.  Even once in the ring, I leaned back to avoid a punch and had pain fire across my low back and down my legs.

However, after all these years of professionals, therapists and healers, all I ever heard about was stretching and a few bodyweight exercises.  Often, those things don’t cut it.  I don’t know why nobody told me about squats and deadlifts.

I don’t get to lift as often as I would like, but that’s okay.  Now, instead of interpreting my lower back ache as, “Stretch me!” I now hear a different cry, “Get to the gym and lift heavy objects!”

There’s nothing like how my abdomen and back feels after lifting.  I can feel rippling deep inside my core that I just don’t get with any other exercise.  I also feel so energized after a session – ready to take on the world.

CTK

(Big Up HDS for introducing lifting into my life)

One Response to “Fix My Back Pain”

  1. I need to get on deadlifts. I’ve yet to spend any substantial amounts of time doing them. Thanks for reminding!

Leave a Reply

