Teaching Gung Fu

I’m told that I’m skilled at teaching Gung Fu. Perhaps this has more to do with how I teach, as I do not believe myself to be particularly gifted. The way I teach involves me simplifying things to their essential components. Once the technique is deconstructed, I provide the raw form of the movement to the student and ask them to work with it through repetition and experimentation to make it theirs. The movement is then ‘destruction tested’ by pitting it against increasing levels of resistance. If the individual can continue to make it work against resisting opponents, the technique becomes part of their personal armoury.

My vision of Gung Fu is a simple one, a system unique to the individual. Just as no two people are the same, their Gung Fu is also expected and encouraged to be different. For example, the wind-up and delivery of a punch can be vastly different between two students, even if the raw form of the movement is presented similarly to both.

All of my students can hit and move well. And I have been pleasantly surprised with my new female students in particular who have learnt how to throw their bodies into their strikes with enough aggression and velocity to become effective hitters.

There is also another key to how I teach; I place the burden to get good squarely on the shoulders of the individual. I do not pander to them and I have little concern with whether they practice or not. Ironically, what I’ve discovered is complete autonomy can be very motivating in and of itself. Students are encouraged to approach Gung Fu with a sense of purpose and I am proud to see them taking steps on a path to self mastery.

One love!

I owe where I am today to my Gung Fu instructors; Leung, Kwok-Keung (Hei Ban Wing Chun Kuen) and Jesse Glover. Jesse emphasizes that each person should create their own “mini-system” of functional Gung Fu and his method epitomizes the essence of Gung Fu; ‘skill acquired through hard work’. 

Leave a Reply

