Freeze

For 2012, my wife and I decided on a spending freeze for the entire year.

What’s allowed to go out?  Life-essentials: mortgage, gas, food, credit card bills, electricity, home-heating, etc.  What’s not allowed to go out? Eating out, movies and entertainment, ‘extras’ for the house, clothing purchases, movies, video games, music, etc.

It’s about debt and saving money and all that – but what’s been the most interesting bit is watching my internal dialogue.

More specifically, the ‘excuses’ that I give myself for spending money.  “I earned this.”  “I owe myself this.”  “I’m going to take up running so I need a new iPod.”  “I’m moving into a new office so I need a new netbook.”  “I could just buy myself this one book because it’s about self-development.”

What is also happening is that I’m looking around and finding out what I do have.  I have a wife, children, a few friends, a car that works, a house that keeps me warm, a job that brings in money, a Wii, some boardgames, a local library, a heavy bag, gloves, sticks, running shoes, a dog, two fish, a lop-eared bunny, two cats; love.

CTK

3 Responses to “Freeze”

  1. It’s one of the things that I’m trying to do now: limiting what I “think” I need (my wants in reality), what I need to replace, and what I actually need.

    It’s off to a slow start.

  2. ctkwingchun Says:

    One things that also helps is the 30-day rule. Want something? Write it down and if you still want it in 30 days, you can buy it. This stops a lot of impulse buying as our life is in constant change – even 30 days later.

Leave a Reply

