Lonely Path; Gung Fu Journey

I am characterized by the way I was taught. The insular, private training sessions have led me on a journey where I now avoid involvement in Wing Chun fraternities or affiliations, preferring to view my Gung Fu journey as a personal odyssey.

The time I did entertain myself in Gung Fu circles I learnt that stories of sifu’s tend to be embellished. Often false memories created for self serving biases, and recollections altered as a result of current beliefs, or the passage of time. Students hung on the every word of their sifu’s preferring to live in the shadows of their sifu’s rather than empowering themselves. However, sometimes it behooves a person to be a bit more honest.

This journey is mine and mine alone.

4 Responses to “Lonely Path; Gung Fu Journey”

  1. And yet just like them you are a product of “how” you were taught… and are you really alone on your journey? No students? No training partners? Cut of from your non-discript teacher?

  2. His Dark Side Says:

    Brother Kevin,

    My teacher(s) taught me how to learn, using the medium of Gung Fu. On that basis, coupled with the fact that my experiences are mine alone, I would say no; I am not a product, a by-product at best.

    Regarding students/training partners; I have free-thinkers who come to learn the art of learning, through the medium of Gung Fu. Like Sunyata said ‘I have nothing to sell.’ They are well aware of this.

    The only thing that has been severed between my sifu and I, is his physical presence through death. So, yes, cut off, yet I hope he is ever present.

  3. A teacher is never a giver of truth – he is a guide, a pointer to the truth that each student must find for himself. A good teacher is merely a catalyst.
    ~ Bruce Lee

    Great stuff you have here. Keep it up. Who’s in the picture btw?

Leave a Reply

