New Information and Gung Fu

We all have our own filter system for information that is meaningful, based largely on our experiences. In terms of Gung Fu, I have a number of experiential reference points for different ranges of combat. I compare the new information with my inner representations of martial arts and see if;

a) they make sense, and;

b) they offer something of value.

If they do, then I draw up ideas as to how I can test the new information which usually involves working with someone offering a certain level of resistance if it is technique oriented.

What I don’t do is discard my own view of martial arts in favour of someone else’s, instead I use the totality of my experiences as an individual to consider the information.

Leave a Reply

