Another Wing Chun Exchange

During my many attempts to establish a Wing Chun club, I called it Wing Chun Exchange.

I had this vision of exchanging information with anyone and everyone who had a piece of something.

Last Thursday I got together again with Roger of Celtic and Filipino stickfighting.  This time was spent with me showing him the Wing Chun sword form (BJD) to get some feedback.

Roger found a few similarities and I share them here:

– Tan Sau represents a quick deflection with a flattened blade in order to strike again, however the tang on the sword prevented him from doing so when he tried.

– Block with your body – just move your body to move your weapon.

– Cutting while stepping back indicates multiple opponents.

Did some Chi Sau and explained ‘4×4’ Chi Sau (both parties close and finish) and High Energy Chi Sau.

Roger also found it funny how the weapons were taught last – like they were some big secret or Holy Grail.  Thought it would be better to teach them at the beginning because you see the techniques better with a weapon as the motions are larger and more exaggerated.  He even said, “Everything makes so much more sense now.”

CTK

4 Responses to “Another Wing Chun Exchange”

  1. I have begun using the knife in sword with all levels of my teaching and learning. I believe you are correct. Weapons helps me see principle easier, and aids me in generalizing them rather than getting stuck on narrow technique.

  2. In my experience, having minimal weapons work has actually made me better at them. My training in Aikido has involved a lot of empty hand (vs. weapons) work since both my Sensei follow the founder’s creed of using none bladed – or just none at all – weapons.

    I’ve probably handled a bokken and a staff less than 20 times in the past 4 years – not a lot. But my empty hand work has improved greatly.

    • ctkwingchun Says:

      I really like cross training with weapon folks because I feel it has given me a clear view and goal of what my weapons should do. The Six and a Half Point Pole form is pretty clear cut, but the Eight Cutting Sword form is a little ambiguous and lends nicely to Celtic and Filipino methods.

      Traditionally, unlike a lot of the empty hand stuff in Wing Chun, weapons were learned by learning the forms and the student was left to his or her own devices to figure it all out. As an eternal student – I’m still trying to figure it all out! 🙂

Leave a Reply

