Come Unstuck

Tonight I’ve bled.

I’ve found myself lost.

“I want to see thirst
In the syllables,
Tough fire
In the sound;
Feel through the dark
For the scream.”

I’ve grown into a child.

I’ve found myself glued unstuck.

“And I, infinitesima­l being,
drunk with the great starry
void,
likeness, image of
mystery,
I felt myself a pure part
of the abyss,
I wheeled with the stars,
my heart broke loose on the wind.”

Eyes staring at me from beneath a pallid shroud.

Wanting to reach out.

I’ve left myself open.

Too vulnerable.

“And I watch my words from a long way off.
They are more yours than mine.
They climb on my old suffering like ivy.”

Have to run fast. No escape.  Turn, I’ve not moved.

The World is changing.

Transforming beneath my own feet.

My escape is to dash, to sprint, to practice speed of foot.

To punch.

To kick.

*quoting Pablo Neruda

Leave a Reply

