Paul’s Note on Wing Chun – Jan 1, 2005

“As I understand it now, wing chun is a set of principles that is embodied within a series of movements. To truly understand our art, I believe we have to go beyond mechanical repetition or rote learning. I don’t want my students to be able to regurgitate the forms, I want them to understand them. Chi Sau ebbs and flows with its own rhythms, never running along predefined paths. In order to be effective, we must be able to adapt instantly to changing conditions. This is not possible if our thinking is rigid.

So what I want to do is to take these first two forms apart and study them in depth. I’ll teach them exactly as Sifu taught us, then I’ll practise them with eyes closed, in reverse, on the opposite side, out of sequence.

I want my students to develop an awareness that the forms are just a starting point, an alphabet with which to construct their own words, then sentences then paragraphs and beyond.”

Paul was a Gung Fu brother of mine who also studied Red Boat/Opera Wing Chun. Paul went missing shortly after this note which was written January 2005, a month after the death of our sifu; Leung, Kwok-Keung.

One Response to “Paul’s Note on Wing Chun – Jan 1, 2005”

  1. Went missing? Sounds like the plot to a spy movie.

Leave a Reply

