Goals – Plan All The Way To The End

“The ending is everything.  Plan all the way to it, taking into account all the possible consequences, obstacles, and twists of fortune that might reverse your hard work and give the glory to others.
By planning to the end you will not be overwhelmed by circumstances and you will know when to stop.  Gently guide fortune and help determine the future by thinking far ahead.”
Robert Greene

Have you achieved your goals?

I’ve spent sometime being nostalgic about the goals I once set.

Perhaps we can all use a daily reminder to re-focus.

One of the greatest revolutions in my training arose out of a desire to chart my progress on paper. Up until that point I had adopted what can only be described as a laissez-faire attitude towards training. Despite pushing myself, my progress was stunted because I had failed to adopt a SCHEME for improvement. Instead, I trained in accordance with how I felt on a day-to-day basis (not always a bad thing).

Things changed following a training camp I attended which addressed goal setting. I was taught to evaluate my current training patterns and use short term and long term goals as a means to get faster, stronger and more explosive.

The simplest way to goal set is to;

a) define what you want to achieve and set deadlines for doing so;

b) consider all the steps needed for success (conditioning, nutrition, recovery etc); and

c) set out your plan on paper and don’t be afraid to reevaluate/change when required.

All good things begin with a plan.


One Response to “Goals – Plan All The Way To The End”

  1. Someone once said: ‘Failing to plan, is planning to fail.’ I would only add – stay flexible. If things don’t always go as you planned, flow like water. 🙂

Leave a Reply

