(R)Evolution – Questions by MrMLSI

MrMLSI commented on an old blog post, asking many a good question.

My answers are italicized.

CTK,

So what ever happen here? Did you ever change your approach to Wing Chun training? Did you make it more ‘applicable’ making slight modifications here and there? Did you do as rageholic mention, change and personalize it to a point where it can be recognize as a new stand alone branch of Wing Chun?

I think all I have been looking for is a way to break out of the shackles traditional martial arts create.  My own freedom of expression through a system.  So, in part, I have worked hard to do what Rageholic suggested and personalize my Chun.

I haven’t made any ‘modifications’ to the system, per se – just the way I now approach it.  I have changed my solo training to reflect what I want to become.  Time is precious, so I make sure that I get my biggest bang for my buck when I train.

What I’ve done is taken the training regime of the boxing and overlayed it onto the Chun.  Cardio/conditioning is a big part of my training, instead of just sitting in YJKYM for hours practicing patty-cake drills.  Heavy-bag and sprints make up a good part of my workout as well.

A few more questions.
When you say the Wing Chun you know cannot stand up against Boxers do you mean with/without gloves and rules, or does it even make a difference at all?

To me, it doesn’t make much difference.  Pressure testing is pressure testing.  What I was getting at in the previous post, specifically, was how the training methods differ and therefore the training outcomes differ.

So what was your answer to your last question?

I assume you’re asking me about what I’ve done with all those Wing Chun techniques.  First, I’ve streamlined my ‘teaching’ process.  When someone asks to train with me, I don’t show them all the rhetoric and try not to talk too much (Wing Chun folk tend to run their mouths a lot – especially when explaining techniques or writing responses to questions on a blog).

Second, going back to personalizing my Chun, something His Dark Side and I have talked about at length, I am constantly in the process of creating my own ‘mini-system’ within the system.

Lastly, I’ve been looking at all the similarities instead of the differences – bringing all ‘techniques’ together into one common goal: hit the guy while minimizing damage.

Sorry for so many questions! I’m looking forward to your response.

No problem.  I sincerely hope you got something out of my responses.

CTK

One Response to “(R)Evolution – Questions by MrMLSI”

  1. Thanks for the response

Leave a Reply

