Not Getting Paid

About four years ago, a year after I opened my Chinese medicine clinic, I let people cancel and no-show without reprimand (read: payment).  What finally forced me to charge a fee was a day I’ll never forget.

Mortgage was coming out that Friday and I had three no-shows and two late cancellations.  I was out a lot of money and I immediately put signs up on all my doors.  I also put a new paragraph after the informed consent portion that my patients would have to initial regarding the new fee.

Just recently, I was introduced to an editor of a well-known magazine.  After pitching my article idea to him, he told me to go for it.  Two days later on the phone he steered my article in the direction he wanted to see it go.  I wanted the gig, and I like to try to be flexible, so I agreed.  As the conversation came to a close, he slipped in that he might not be able to pay me, but the self-promotion because of the exposure would be great.

I’ve finished the article and have to send it to him today.  I’ve been struggling with how I’m going to approach how much I want to get paid for the work.  I came to the conclusion that I would do this one for free, just to get my foot in the door, and then the next one ask to be paid.  And then something happened.

My car died.  The valve seat came loose and forced a bunch of little pieces through the engine.  ‘Terminal’ was the word my mechanic used.  So here I am again, forced to make a stand, not only on principle but on how my world works.  A new payment will be coming out of my bank account – one we haven’t had for a few years.  And I need to get paid.  And if he won’t pay me, someone else will.

CTK

3 Responses to “Not Getting Paid”

  1. Nothing like getting stiffed. Hope it all works out for you. If I were near your clinic I would be a paying customer!!!

  2. […] one: Get told that you *might* not get paid for your acupuncture […]

Leave a Reply

