Nobody Puts Baby In A Corner


Wing Chun shows that anatomically I can only defend 180 degrees of centreline.  I can make this more if I shift, but it shows the limitations of the limbs of the human body.

I prefer, probably due to the system’s way of embedding itself into my psyche, to have my back against a wall in a club.  I also prefer to be the one sitting in a booth facing the entrance.  I prefer the wall on my back.

If you give me a corner, even better.  It cuts down the 180 degrees to 90.  Plus, I don’t have to hold myself up – I just lean on the wall and the more force my opponent puts on me just gets eaten up by the concrete behind me.

This is metaphorical for life.  If for any second you feel like you can back me into a corner and have your way with me, you’ve got another thing coming.  I’ll just kick back and perhaps wait it out.  If I miss, I hit air.  If you miss, you hit concrete.  I might grab behind your head and spin you round, slamming your head into the wall.  I will use your false confidence as a weakness and take you to the grave.

“Forget about winning and losing; forget about pride and pain. Let your opponent graze your skin and you smash into his flesh; let him smash into your flesh and you fracture his bones; let him fracture your bones and you take his life! Do not be concerned with escaping safely- lay your life before him!!” -Bruce Lee

Leave a Reply

