Do Not Disturb

It was painted pink when we bought the house five years ago.  Used mainly for storage there’s a 10×15 area that I use for martial arts.  I never needed to paint it, I just hung my heavy bag and called it done.  Even the ceiling is just under 6 feet, so the heavy bag hangs low but it’s a non-concern – I just used the opportunity to practice aiming between the chains.

Put on some Krishna Das and while it’s not the angriest music in the world for hitting the bag, we’d be missing the point.  Pacing back and forth in the basement, making figure eights, swerving in and in and out with the music, inhaling the incense, kicking the bag, leaning on it, swaying with it, smashing into it with my elbows, shoulder bumping to a quick and short punch – in a trance seemingly not unlike Dervish Whirling.

I’m in the basement.  Do Not Disturb.

CTK

Leave a Reply

