Personal Power

“It was the myth – the belief of all those legends that enabled me to switch on my confidence.  Kung-Fu, and specifically Temple Kung-Fu – the one place in all the world that was built on probably the most lies ever – made me feel invincible.  If I was facing off against somebody that I thought was better than me, I would just get in the zone – that zone where I felt invincible.  And maybe that’s the part of being young in Kung-Fu, but it was all about belief.  I believed that I could hold a horse stance for longer than anyone else so I did it.  I believed that I could throw lightening bolts – it’s just that I hadn’t reached that level yet.”

Paraphrased from a conversation with Original Kung-Fu Brother, D. Rose.

Leave a Reply

