If They Don’t Have Anything Nice To Say

Elementary school isn’t so far away when one looks back because of all the hurtful things that were said.  I’m average height now, but spiked in my early years.  Every year we had an event called a walk-run.  It’s where you could either, you guessed it, walk or run.  It was designed to improve company fitness morale and it worked.  For every lap of a very long course, one would attain a painted-on-both-ends-popsicle-stick.  After the event that lasted a few weeks, we would trade in our popsicle sticks for awards and certificates.

I was always out there running but was always made fun of.  My legs would flare out as I would run because I didn’t have control of my body yet.  I actually didn’t even know this was happening until I saw one of my student peers running, throwing their feet out to the side mid-stride and laughing and pointing at me.

In High school, I had the same English teacher for three years beacuse that class split with another one.  Over the course of those three years, she proceeded to tell me that my writing skills were deteriorating.  I had been writing the same way she had wanted and she was failing me.  When it came time for provincial exams before graduation, I told her that I was going to an exam prep course for English writing.  She told me that they were worthless and it wouldn’t be able to help me anyways.

If they don’t have anything nice to say, f*ck ’em.

I now run sprints and compete in local trail race events.  That exam prep was the best time I’d had, learned a new way to write essays and brought my average up in her class because I rocked that provincial exam.  Now I’m a published author.

“The person who says it cannot be done should not interrupt the person doing it.”

CTK

One Response to “If They Don’t Have Anything Nice To Say”

  1. There’s a lot be said for what we learn in elementary school. Kindergarten, even.

Leave a Reply

