Chinese Medicine’s Mini-System

Dr. Cai was a principle instructor for the time I attended Chinese medicine school.  His teaching method is the reason I am so successful in my clinics today.

I always thought he was a genius – and he is.  In my last year of study, he moved back to Texas where his sisters and mother were living.  Before the next year was about to graduate I made sure that I got all his course materials that they had.  I bought the provincial exam prep from him.  I made sure to watch him give acupuncture in the clinic and get his protocols; these never deviated from what he taught in class.

An MD(OB/GYN) in China, an MD in the USA, and MD in CAN, a Registered Acupuncturist in CAN and a Licensed Acupuncturist in the USA, Dr. Cai showed us how someone could learn anything quite quickly and easily: he effectively organized information.

I always thought it was JUST his ability to organize information but I was wrong.  Teaching this year at a Chinese medicine school has shown me something else through the questioning of the students.  My students asked me, “What about this?”  “Do you look at that?”  “Why don’t you ask that?”  Most of the time I responded, “Because I don’t get enough good information from it.”

While my answer was truthful, there’s more to it.  Dr. Cai showed me his mini-system of Chinese medicine.  The bare-bones, most effective diagnostics to get to the acupuncture point and herbal formula as quickly as possible.

In the upcoming Wing Chun Illustrated Magazine article, His Dark Side writes about how his Wing Chun Sifu and his Non-Classical Gung-Fu Sifu each taught him to make his own mini-system out of what they taught.

Learning martial arts skill is the easy part.  Copy this.  Do that.  Punch like this.  Kick like that.  The hard part is looking within oneself after a time of practice and finding out what it would take to defeat oneself.  Then, training for that.  Making a mini-system for that: mentally, emotionally and physically.

Wing Chun Kung-Fu is always talked about like it is easy to learn and takes less time than any other Kung-Fu style.  While this may be true to a certain degree, what’s the real timeline?  20 years for Wing Chun as opposed to 50 years for another style?  What makes certain lineages stand out?

I believe the masters of these lineages, while they taught the entire curriculum, concentrated on a core set of their own personal principles.

Personal revelations I’m sharing with the nation.

Thank you Dr. Cai.  Thank you His Dark Side.  Respect.

4 Responses to “Chinese Medicine’s Mini-System”

  1. Beautifully observed. Gratefully read

  2. “Ability determines seniority in Wing Chun” ~ Ip Man

    There’s a story among Aikido circles that O’Sensei one day was asked by several of his senior students how long does it take to truly master Aikido. His response? “One month”.

    Thanks for sharing this, as always.

Leave a Reply

