Embrace Yourself

Amid the howling wind and churning water, he suddenly realized that the “dark he had struggled to keep under” in his life – and in his writing, which had until then failed to find an audience or meet his own aspirations – should, in fact, be the source of his creative inspiration.

“I shall always be depressed,” Beckett concluded, “but what comforts me is the realization that I can now accept this dark side as the commanding side of my personality.  In accepting it, I will make it work for me.”

– Samuel Beckett, Daily Rituals: How Artists Work by Mason Currey, pg.91

Leave a Reply

