Death of a Gung Fu Master; Jesse Glover

“Death is not extinguishing the light;
it is putting out the lamp because the dawn has come.”
Rabindranath Tagore

The world looks drab.

I imagine that when you have swum in a river of ecstacy or have run through everglades with wild things, its difficult to return to seeing the world as merely ordinary.

And I have seen greatness first hand and have also felt its iron backfist, stinging across the face of a punch pad.

When you are sorrowful look again in your heart,
and you shall see that in truth you are weeping for that which has been your delight.
Kahlil Gibran

Today, at this very moment, the world appears bleached as if the kiss of the sun has gone. Its brightness muted. Yesterday’s excited whirring and whizzing has been replaced by a muffled sound. A dull hum in a sealed tomb. And once, where my skin tingled with universal vibrations, I find myself numb.

He has gone, our beloved, my sifu, and the bringer of light to many students of Gung Fu.

For the sword outwears its sheath,
and the soul wears out the breast.
And the heart must pause to breathe,
and love itself have rest.
Lord Byron 

Jesse R. Glover passed away today.

He slipped quietly on the morning of the twenty seventh of June two thousand and twelve, after having lost his battle with cancer and its many manifestations of illness.

Love. Lost. Broken. Reborn. Missed.

Thank you Jesse for touching our lives.

Naturally I miss Bruce. I was quite sad when I heard of his death.

The best thing that I got from Bruce was a way to learn and a path to follow.

Jesse Glover on Bruce Lee

3 Responses to “Death of a Gung Fu Master; Jesse Glover”

  1. May he rest in peace.when our Lord and Savior Jesus Christ,
    come again Mr. Glover, will rise and be with our Lord. Amen.

    peace
    joe

  2. I can’t believe he’s gone, and I wish I had been able to train with him more than once. What I learned from his big punch mechanics changed me as a martial artist forever.

    • His Dark Side Says:

      I’d be interested to hear where and when you met him David. What were your impressions of him?

Leave a comment